

## MDHA Annual General Meeting May 29, 2023 @ 7:00pm WEBEX MEETING

- 1. Call to Order-by Cheryl Cooper at 7:01 pm
- 2. Motion to Approve Virtual Meeting-motion by Julianne for MDHA General Meeting to be done virtually online with all voting happening virtually, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Matt Graham
- 3. Greetings from MPP Goldie Ghamari-will investigate getting free Wi-Fi at Metcalfe arena.
- 4. Greetings from Jenn Primeau, Referee-in-Chief Kevin Graham, Marc Sauve
- 5. Approval of the 2022-23 MDHA AGM Agenda-motion moved by Deb Monaghan, Seconded by Julianne Oelke-Simonsen, motion passed.
- 6. Approval of the 2021-22 MDHA AGM Minutes-motion moved by Julianne Oelke-Simonsen, seconded by Andrea Benson-McDougall, motion passed.
- 7. President's Report -Cheryl A. Cooper
  - -honour and privilege to serve last 2 seasons
  - -well attended conditioning and Body contact clinics last August, thanks to Steve for helping with that and the Coaching Clinics
  - -22 teams from U9-U21 plus 7 U7 teams, 8 teams went to playoffs and 4 came home with banners
  - -hosted usual number of Canuck teams with exception of U14 (2009) that was hosted by Leitrim, and we accepted some U15 players
  - -Ken Hill, VP Competitive of Russell is retiring
  - -Winter Carnival Day was well received, organized by Jessica
  - -2 U18 tournaments plus a Fun Day to continue, thanks to city staff that helped run them.

- -Fred Gillis award shared by 2 coaches, a rookie, Patrick Walsh U18 Canucks and Jens Simonsen, U18A and U13A veteran that has coached multiple years, sometimes 2 teams at a time, both went to the playoff finals.
- -Louis Fournier Volunteer Award- given to Stacey Heins and John Hein
- -\$500--U18 Bursaries (Katie Bent, Owen Brunette, Adam Yeh, Isaac Visser, Melissa Smiley) and Fred Gillis (Reilly Gear, Liam Coyle) awards being given to total of 7 players.
- 8. Introduction of standing members present. –Cameras turned on and everyone introduced by Cheryl Cooper.
- 9. Members with reports presentation-full reports found on MDHA website.

Members with reports: -very brief summary presented.

VP House Operations Julianne Oelke-Simonsen

VP Competitive Julia Tuff

VP Discipline & Risk and Safety Matt D. Graham Registrar Tamara Brittain Stacey Heins Ice Scheduler Ward Mallon

U7 Convenor Maryam Sugrue-Foubert & Vicki Compton

U9 Co-Convenors Steve Brittain/Jason Scholar

U11 Convenor Todd Lockett

U13 Co-Convenors Alison Watson / Andrew Penner

U15 Convenor Adam Baker U18 Convenor Deb Monaghan Chris Rheaume **GHA Convenor** Equipment & Merchandise Jay Kennedy **Fundraising Coordinator** Jessica Dearden Coach Mentor/Player Dev Steve Brunette FAP coordinator Nick Pommainville Tournament Coordinator Adrienne Duncan

## Members without reports:

Past-President Andrea Benson-McDougall

Secretary Rosanna Ferguson
Webmaster Darryl Swerbrick
U21 Convenor Jim Kelleher

Player Development vacant

## Amendments to the MDHA Constitution and Bylaws

I. Motion to Amend MDHA Bylaw 3, Article 1, 1.1

**ORIGINAL ARTICLE:** 1.1 The Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held during the month of May each year. Its purpose shall be to review the activities of the past season, to carry out elections, to consider Policies and Constitutional and By-Law amendments for the coming season.

**AMENDED ARTICLE:** 1.1 The Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held during the month of May each year. Its purpose shall be to review the activities of the past season, to carry out elections, to consider Policies and Constitutional and By-Law amendments for the coming season. The Executive may, at their discretion, choose to conduct the AGM by means of virtual conferencing. All business conducted at such meeting, including all motions duly made, seconded and carried at that meeting, will have the same force and effect as if the meeting had been held in person.

- Moved by Stacey Heins, Seconded by Julianne Oelke-Simonsen -motion passed
- II. Motion to Amend MDHA Bylaw 3, Article 2, 2.1

**ORIGINAL ARTICLE**: 2.1 Executive meetings shall be at the call of the President.

**AMENDED ARTICLE**: 2.1 Executive meetings shall be at the call of the President. *The Executive meeting may be held by means of virtual conferencing. All business conducted at such meeting, including all motions duly made, seconded and carried at that meeting, will have the same force and effect as if the meeting had been held in person.* 

- Moved by Stacey Heins, Seconded by Julianne Oelke-Simonsen -motion passed
- 11. Executive Elections to the MDHA Board -Andrea Benson-McDougall.
  - \*Note voting will be done electronically, one vote per device
    - I. ELECTION OF PRESIDENT: The VP House and President shall be elected in alternate years with the President being elected in odd years and the VP House in even years. The following name has been received as willing to stand as President, for a new two-year term: Julianne Oelke-Simonsen (Nominated by Stacey Heins, seconded by Julia Tuff). -Motion passed.
    - II. **PAST-PRESIDENT: Cheryl Cooper** is acclaimed as Immediate Past President and will begin a new two-year term.

- III. **RETURNING MEMBERS:** There are currently ten members of the Board, finishing the second of their two-year term. Their names are presented as willing to stand for open positions on the Board, for a new two-year term and, if elected, will be assigned roles at the next Board meeting.
  - i. Matthew Graham
  - ii. Julia Tuff
  - iii. Tamara Brittain
  - iv. Stacey Heins
  - v. Maryam Sugrue-Foubert
  - vi. Jay Kennedy
  - vii. Chris Rheaume
  - viii. Darryl Swerbrick
    - ix. Adrienne Duncan
    - x. Nick Pommainville
      - -1<sup>st</sup> Julianne, 2<sup>nd</sup>, Deb, Motion has passed.
- IV. **STANDING MEMBERS:** There are currently six members of the Board returning for the second of their two-year term and will be assigned roles at the first board meeting. Standing members are:
  - i. Andrew Penner
  - ii. Adam Baker
  - iii. Iessica Dearden
  - iv. Ward Mallon
  - v. Todd Lockett
  - vi. Deb Monaghan
- V. **NEW MEMBERS:** There are currently six open positions on the Board. The following names are presented as willing to stand for open positions on the Board, for a new one-year term and, if elected, will be assigned roles at the next Board meeting.
  - i. Nathaly Barnett
  - ii. Caitlyn Pommainville
  - iii. Lesley Parker
  - iv. Brian Gear
    - -Moved by Cheryl Cooper, Seconded by Julia Tuff, Motion has passed.

12. **ANNOUNCEMENTS** - Draw two names from all attendees for the two \$250 registration discounts and announce winners on the MDHA web page and social media.

Winners: 1) Jens Simonsen
2) Cheryl Cooper

- 13. Questions/Comments from the floor
- 14. Adjournment- motion by Julia Tuff and approved

Next meeting of the MDHA Executive Monday June 19, 2023, at 7pm