

# MDHA Annual General Meeting MINUTES

## Monday May 27th, 2024

#### 7:00 pm via Webex

#### 1. Call to Order

The President Julianne Oelke-Simonsen called the meeting to order at 7:04 pm.

### 2. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda.

- Moved by Todd Lockett, Seconded by Cheryl Cooper

**MOTION CARRIED** 

# 3. Approval of the May 2023 Annual General Meeting Minutes

Motion to approve the minutes of the May 2023 Annual General Meeting.

- Moved by Cheryl Cooper, seconded by Maryam Sugrue-Foubert

**MOTION CARRIED** 

# 4. President's Report – Julianne Oelke-Simonsen

The President introduced Reg MacDonald, Chair of the Gloucester Hockey Association. The President gave a summary of her annual report that was posted on the MDHA website.

# 5. Introduction of Standing Members Present

The President introduced the members of the 2023-24 Executive.

#### **6. Executive Member Reports**

The members of the Executive provided summaries of their annual reports as posted on the MDHA website.

### 7. Amendments to the MDHA Constitution and By-Laws

The Secretary presented several amendments to the Constitution and By-Laws. The motions are appended to these minutes.











MDHA Constitution MDHA Constitution MDHA Constitution MDHA Constitution Amendment Form 2(Amendment Form 2(Amendment Form 2(Amendment Form 2))











MDHA Constitution MDHA Constitution MDHA Constitution MDHA Constitution Amendment Form 2(Amendment Form 2(Amendment Form 2(Amendment Form 2))





MDHA Constitution MDHA Constitution Amendment Form 2(Amendment Form 20

All motions were moved by Brian Gear and seconded by Cheryl Cooper.

#### ALL 12 MOTIONS WERE CARRIED.

### 8. Elections to MDHA Executive Board – Cheryl Cooper

The first order of business was the election of Vice President of House Operations. Ward Mallon put his name forward for election.

Motion to appoint Ward Mallon as Vice-President of House Operations for a two-year term.

 Moved by Stacey Heins, seconded by Cheryl Cooper MOTION CARRIED

#### a) Returning Members

Six members of the Board, finishing the second year of their two-year term, were presented as willing to stand for open positions on the Board, for a new two-year term and, if elected, would be assigned roles at the next Board meeting:

- i. Andrew Penner
- ii. Adam Baker
- iii. Jessica Dearden
- iv. Ward Mallon
- v. Todd Lockett
- vi. Deb Monaghan

Motion to appoint the returning members for a new two-year term to the Executive.

Moved by Tamara Brittain, seconded by Julia Tuff
 MOTION CARRIED

# b) Standing Members

Thirteen members of the Board returning for the second year of their two-year term would be assigned roles at the first board meeting. Standing members were:

- i. Julia Tuff
- ii. Tamara Brittain

- iii. Stacey Heins
- iv. Jay Kennedy
- v. Chris Rheaume
- vi. Darryl Swerbrick
- vii. Adrienne Duncan
- viii. Nick Pommainville
- ix. Nathaly Barnett
- x. Caitlyn Pommainville
- xi. Lesley Parker
- xii. Brian Gear
- xiii. Kellie Blue

#### c) New Members

The following names were presented as willing to stand for open positions on the Board, for a new two-year term and, if elected, would be assigned roles at the next Board meeting:

- i. Roshan Abraham
- ii. Melissa Dow
- iii. Rebecca Young

Motion to appoint the new members for a two-year term to the Executive.

 Moved by Stacey Heins, seconded by Cheryl Cooper MOTION CARRIED

# 9. Questions/Comments from the Floor

Matt McCarlie asked what could be done to address development gaps between U7 and U9. The President and U9 Convenor responded that there are conditioning camps in the summer but the Executive could consider other opportunities.

# 10.Adjournment

Motion to adjourn

- Moved by Todd Lockett

#### **MEETING ADJOURNED**

Participants: Adam Baker, Lesley Parker, Roshan Abraham, Andrew Penner, Brent Denison, Stephanie Hoople, Deb Monaghan, Julianne Oelke-Simonsen, Jay Kennedy, Stacey Heins, Tamara Brittain, Rebecca Young, Nick Pommainville, Caitlyn Pommainville, Brian Gear, Todd Lockett, Nathaly Barnett, Reg MacDonald, Christopher Sharpe, Kyle Hopple, Julia Tuff, Ward Mallon, Matt Graham, Maryam Sugrue-Foubert, Matt McCarlie, Darryl Swerbrick